Motivational Monday: No More Voices

Today I got up knowing I needed to run. I have a new schedule I’m trying to stick to and I missed yesterday’s run due to all the Easter activities. So I knew it had to be today.

I got up a little late to run by myself so I got my son up and invited him to ride his bike. It didn’t take any time for him to agree. He loves riding outside of the complex!

My new unplugged running method has really given me what I need to run without walking. I had thought that having an interval workout set-up in my Runkeeper app was helping me but now that I run without the intervals or without any audio cues (no pace, no distance, or time) I’m finding myself able to run without walking. Something I thought I could only do during a race when I had a lot of motivation and encouragement.

I’m certainly not working on speed right now. I’m just building up my endurance slowly without injuring myself. I want to continue running like I am, without walking, but I want to make sure I don’t hurt myself, too. I’m prone to injury and getting hurt is not only a physical set-back but it can also be a mental set-back, too.

After today’s run, that’s three days I’ve now gone on a continuous run with no walking or stopping. I’m feeling great and totally motivated to continue. I’m up to 1.5 miles continuously and I hope to get up to two miles next week.

It would seem I just had to experience myself running to know I could do it. My body is obviously able to, my mind just had to catch up and know it was true.

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Life, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

