April Ultimate Coffee Date

It’s been a while since I last participated in the Ultimate Coffee date hosted by Fitness Mom Wine Country, Confessions of a Mother Runner, and  Got 2 Run 4 Me. Check out the blog hop and visit with other fitness fans and runners around the web sharing a hot cuppa joe this morning.

Ultimate-Coffee-Date-Badge

If I was having coffee with you this morning, I’d gush about my great run yesterday and laugh about my butt hurting from it! The good kind of hurt! I actually woke up this morning saying I’ll have to run this hill again so that I can feel this kind of sore more often. It’s the kind of sore tushy that makes you feel like you really accomplished something. And I love that feeling!

If I was having coffee with you this morning, I’d tell you I’m writing this post from my new laptop and I’m still not thrilled about it. You see I was recording our second podcast episode for Hobbies Up To Here when my GarageBand app decided to freeze before I could save the whole thing.

I lost an hour of recording and was thoroughly pissed. But that caused us to discuss the fact that my old MacBook was pretty much dead and had been on its last leg the last year or two. The CD drive had failed over 5 years ago but I refused to get a new computer then because it worked (mostly) and I didn’t want to spend the money.

I got the drive fixed then but from that moment on the thing just kept falling apart. It was a work horse! And I was comfortable with the software I used for my podcasting and blogging. So for 5 years I’ve dealt with new issues that came up over time. I couldn’t use the laptop without using the power cord or it would power down randomly. The fan would kick on LOUDLY because it would overheat within 10 minutes of using it. The repaired CD drive finally died.

After losing that recording yesterday, it was time to bite the bullet and I wasn’t thrilled. Most people would have LOVED a new laptop but not me. I wasn’t ready to pay through the nose for one when mine worked (sorta). Ugh! But I went through with it. Best Buy was offering a deal. I got the previous generation Mac Air Book at a discounted rate due to a newer version coming out soon. It has everything I need and I don’t have to learn any new software to continue recording my podcast.

It was still tough to cough up the money. I’m not a good shopper!

If I was having coffee with you this morning, I’d share how poorly our house hunt is going which is why spending money is tough. We’re up against a lot trying to buy a place of our own down here in sunny California and we’re starting to give up hope. Because we are trying to buy, we’re in save save SAVE mode and buying a new laptop (though I really did need it) was hard. On top of that, my flip flops broke yesterday, TOO! Being is Southern California, flip flops are a must have year round so I’m going to have to spend money on those, too.

Oh did I tell you I’m also in Maid of Honor mode and spending money on that too? I have so many great ideas for the shower (next weekend) and bachelorette (beginning of May) that I’m having to get creative with the costs so I can do it all without breaking the bank.

And with me being on Spring Break for the next week, that’s time off I don’t get paid for. BOO! So I’m going to have to spend wisely to make it all happen.

If I was having coffee with you this morning, I’d tell you this whole money situation is making me cranky. These are the times I wish I hadn’t left my cushy job to follow my heart and get back into teaching. I love teaching and I’ve missed it these past seven years, but at this moment, right now, I’m missing the money I used to make.

If I was having coffee with you this morning, I’d tell you that I’m not always such a humbug sorta person. It’s just been a tough last 24 hours with the realization that I’m trying to plan a lot and will have to spend some money when I really shouldn’t but it’s apart of the whole gig.

So I’m hoping the next week off I’ll see some improvement in my mood as I get creative with the goodies for the parties AND I’ll make time to run that hill again just for me.

I’ve also got a lot to look forward to that will hopefully boost my mood. We have a Ducks hockey game Wednesday and my son is bringing his best buddy. Then Thursday my sister-in-law arrives along with my niece from Spokane to share the Spring Break time off together.

See, I’m already looking forward to it and I’m feeling much better just thinking about all the good things I have ahead of me.

Have a great Easter if you celebrate, otherwise enjoy the weekend! We have brunch tomorrow with family but that’s about it! We’re totally being lazy this weekend. We are not religious so we don’t celebrate the holiday but we do enjoy the family time with those that do celebrate.

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Life, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to April Ultimate Coffee Date

  1. Coco says:

    I would like to get a new laptop, but I don’t even know where to start, so I hope mine keeps working for a while I understand the stress of spending money – sometimes I feel like there’s a vacuum cleaner sucking out my checking account! Thanks for joining the Coffee Date!

    • Katie V. says:

      Totally agreed. And when you are looking to make a big purchase in the form of a new house/condo, even the little things hurt! So this dying laptop situation has horrible timing.

  2. I hope you have a better week next week and enjoy the new laptop!

  3. HoHo Runs says:

    I love that good soreness too! I slalom ski in the summers and Mondays are all about that good sore feeling. Enjoy your hill this week!

  4. Kelli says:

    Congrats on the good run! I so rarely have my glutes hurting from a run, that would be welcome (I know I need to get my posterior chain firing more effectively!)

Leave a Reply

