Workout Wednesday: Unplugged

I have no pictures to share. No map to show my route or a screenshot to show my step count for the day. 

I only have my words. 

You see, I ran last night. First I walked a mile with my husband. We talked about house hunting and the emotional roller coaster one goes on when waiting to hear if an offer to buy has been accepted.

We shared a laugh about our son’s clumsiness and how those genes certainly came from me. After a mile my husband asked if I was done because he was ready to rest. He had played hard ball with our son for a good length of time before our walk so he was good and exhausted.  

I wasn’t. But I wasn’t prepared to walk alone. I had no phone and no music, no podcasts and no apps to entertain me. Even so, I didn’t feel done. 

When we reached practice he drifted off to sit and stretch while I just kept going. My feet seemed to have decided for me so I let them. Then, my walked turn into a run. Just a slight run, nothing fast or extreme. I lifted one foot then followed with the other. 

I ran without my running app telling me when to walk and when to run, so I just ran. I ran without my music or my podcasts so I just listened to everything around me. The sound of the breeze rushing through the foliage planted along the dark, metal fence. The clink of the baseball meeting the aluminum of a bat and the hoarse whooping of the boys on the field, wrestling with each other in between plays. 

The air was sweet with the blossoming gardenia and jasmin plants lining the walk way as I trot along. Soon the sounds of the busy fields around me faded away and all I could hear was the steady rhythm of my foot steps in sync with my breathing. One step then another, around the field I went. 

I ran a mile with no way to track it. I have no photogenic post-run shots to share. No splits to pour over and analyze. No times to compare or speed fluctuations to criticize. 

Instead I had the glistening layer of sweat, the tight calves, and sore hip flexors as proof. I had run a mile, totally and completely unplugged. 

Femme Fitale Fit Club
About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Goals, Life, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Workout Wednesday: Unplugged

  1. What a great feeling! Sometimes its so nice to completely unplug and run just for the love of running.

  2. Love this! Running unplugged is an awesome feeling!!!

  3. What a beautiful description of your run! In a world where we feel the need to track and take pictures of everything, it is easy to forget how great it can be to just run. Thanks for sharing! Once it warms up outside here I can’t wait to get outside and do some run/walks.

    • Mrs. Geek says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I didn’t expect to enjoy my run as much as I did and now I look forward to the next one and actually plan to purposely make it a weekly goal for one run to be unplugged.

  4. I don’t run unplugged enough. Some of the best feeling runs are the ones where I just went and enjoyed the feeling of being free.

    • Mrs. Geek says:

      Right? I don’t do it nearly enough and by choice. So often it happens because of a technical glitch or because I forgot something. I need to plan them more often!

  5. Girl back in the era of the dinosaurs, we ran with Walkmans and that’s it LOL. I have lived my running years unplugged. #wowlinkup

Leave a Reply

