Workout Wednesday: Zumba Zumba!!!

For the past six months I’ve been hyper focused on my new job (yay teaching!) and my new role as a partial stay-at-home mom. When my job changed from a 9-5 Monday through Friday office position to an 8-2 Monday through Thursday teaching job, a lot of changes came our way.

My son no longer needs child care and that has helped us personally as a family and also financially. But it does add an element of stress. I now end my day and rush to get my son then I rush home to do all the housework AND homework AND lesson plans. WHEW! It’s been a wild ride so far but it’s working for us.

But this has left a huge gap in my workout routine. Between adjusting to the new hours and the new roles around the house plus all that is expected of me in my first full year teaching with the hope of being rehired but in a full sized mainstream class (right now I’m only considered part time), I’ve been too tired to fit in any type of workout.

I would try to run but that doesn’t seem to appeal to me any more. I know I still love it but I’m full on BURNT OUT! So I try to go to the gym but I’m not loving it like I used to. I know these are all weak excuses because I just felt myself prioritizing my life is such a new way. And exercising wasn’t one of those new priorities.

Then reality smacked me in the face and yelled “WAKE UP!” I tried on a pair of my comfortable stretchy pants and found myself hurting in them. OUCH! They were too tight on the waist and I just wasn’t feeling attractive in them. But I had to wear them because nothing else would fit! This was a problem!

On top of that, I’ve been trying on bridesmaid dresses for my sister’s wedding in May and we’re coming down to the wire. I have my dress now but I look so frumpy in it! This can’t go on! She will forever have these pictures and I’ll hate that I’ll look so overweight and out of shape in them! Who wants that in the pictures they’ll have of the best day of their life!?

To be honest, I haven’t been seen in a photo for months because I’ve actively stayed behind the camera. No selfies, no group photos, no family shots. If anyone sees a pictures and asks where I am, I just state that I’m probably behind the camera.

I decided enough is enough. I have a race scheduled in April (which I’m not completely sure I’ll run) and this wedding in May so it’s time to pick up the pace.

Since running and the gym are not my favorite forms of exercise at the moment, I took a chance on a Zumba class at my local gym.

Zumba and I go WAY back. I Zumbed my butt of years ago when I was still with the YMCA in my city. I adored my instructor, who is also a dancer, and loved every sweaty second in her class. I went so far as to have a pair of split sole dance shoes and the jingly belly dancing skirt!! I did long Zumbathons and master classes that lasted a good hour to two hours long. I burned calories upon calories and never once complained.

I LOVED ZUMBA! It was a thrilling and fun way to torch those calories!

Then I injured my heel running and dancing just wasn’t the same. Turning was painful and every bounce and jump did a number on my heal. UGH! And I was still trying to keep up with running so I didn’t want to injure it more in class. So, good bye Zumba!

That was 2013 and I think since then I’ve made it to 3 classes. Maybe 2…

It just wasn’t the same! No instructor inspired me the way my favorite did and I was constantly worried about my heel getting reinjured. So I stay away and would tentatively try a class here or there but I just didn’t feel the same love as I had in the past.

Then last week happened. I had gone to the gym twice and was on a roll. I was on Facebook when I should have been grading papers (oops) and saw my gym post about Zumba class on Friday night. I sent a message to my husband that I was going to attempt Zumba again and go to this evening class.

And I did! Pretty impressed that I actually did what I said I would do since I’ve been awful about sticking to my promises to myself. I keep saying I’ll run with my group or get up early Saturday before it gets warm but I never do. I sleep through my alarm, get too busy or make up a reason not to workout. Not this time!

This time I made it to class, I danced my little heart out, and I went home happy. I really enjoyed myself! It was then that I realized I missed dancing and now that my heel is behaving (so far) I’d like to add Zumba back into my routine.

To do that, I find, buying shoes specifically for dancing helps. There is A LOT of turning and pivoting and jumping that goes on and when you are wearing simple running shoes, you can get caught mid-turn and tear your knee pretty badly because the sole doesn’t spin with you.

So I went ahead and got myself a pair of Zumba shoes!

Aren’t they snazzy!?!

I run large in shoes (size 10.5-11) so I was limited on what brand/style I could get ahold of without breaking the bank. These were on sale (YAY SALES!) on Amazon and carried my size. I ordered them and three days later I’ve got myself some dancing shoes.

My hope is to have an hour of dancing and sweating to myself a couple of times a week without any expectations. I just want to go and have fun while getting in a little workout. That’s it! Hopefully keeping it simple and adding in some gym time AND running I’ll be able to keep this promise to myself!

Femme Fitale Fit Club
About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Life, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Workout Wednesday: Zumba Zumba!!!

  1. Congrats on the new job! The work/life balance is such a struggle! Zumba sounds like a lot of fun! I’ve never done it but sometimes the dance type fitness requires a little more rhythm than I possess haha!

  2. Hey stuff happens. I did not realize they had Zumba shoes. They are snazzy and very colorful. I like that. 😉 Do you think once you settle into your new routine you will feel like doing more in regards to fitness later?

    • Mrs. Geek says:

      I hope so. I do miss the love of running and I want to add weights in as soon as I move past this beginning phase where I’m sore after every work out. So far it’s Zumba and the gym for other workouts to mix things up.

  3. I love your Zumba shoes. Zumba is all about the instructor no dance background instructor means mediocre Zumba class IMO. #wowlinkup

Leave a Reply

