Workout Wednesday: Soccer All The Way!

Welcome fitness readers. It’s been almost a week since I last posted and it’s all for a good reason…

I GOT A NEW JOB!

Well, I *had* a job already but the one I applied and interviewed for I got (Woohoo!!!) THEN I got a call for another job and was offered the position the next day! WOOHOO!

Starting Sept 22nd, I’ll be the ELD/RtI teacher at a local public school. Tomorrow I have a full day of training for the RtI position. I’m also training my sister to run my old desk at the family business so she can do this job while they look for someone to replace me.

On top of all that, we kicked off our AYSO season this weekend with opening ceremonies and pictures. Our banner was in a competition for best handmade banner and I’m still waiting for the official word but the rumor is we got 2nd place!

 photo E00204B2-2CE6-4B60-94CE-EDF81A521436_zps1jn17gvz.jpg

Go Star Destroyers!

So, to say the least, we’re busy!!!

And my workouts are suffering for it. I’m looking forward to the shift in schedule. I’ll spend less time traveling to and from work and my days will begin and end close to what my son’s school schedule will be. Plus, I’ll work four days instead of five. So that will mean more time to run and workout and prep.

Even with our crazy weekend, I did get a chance to prep my meals and worked hard to have some healthy food on hand for all of us to eat.
IMG_5181.JPG

After all that meal prep and lunch making, we had soccer practice for the little man. My husband and I took advantage of the field space and did a small workout ourselves. He chucked his frisbee golf discs and I ran for them just to get my legs moving again and judge how I was feeling.
 photo b6960108-e37a-4d5e-9b1f-24f10d6a21ce_zps444a6382.jpg
And how was I? Slow… very very slow. All this time off has not helped my physically even though it may have been what I needed mentally.

But I got out there anyways and jogged back and forth for about 45 minutes. I’ve got to start over now, nothing more than 2-3 miles to reset myself and not get injured.

This is our life now, bus busy with a new job, school, and my favorite sport, SOCCER!

Soccer has been apart of my life since I was about 8 or 9, about my son’s age. I was never great at it but I was good enough to enjoy it. I played until the 5th grade when I got really sick and was diagnosed with asthma. For a time I was very inactive because I didn’t know how to manage my symptoms and was benched in all things physical.

But, I never lost my love for the sport. When I wasn’t playing I was watching! My brother and sister played both at the recreation level and at the club level, traveling to play all over the place. I even coached when I was older for a younger cousin’s team.

Then I moved to college and didn’t have access to soccer the way I did at home. I didn’t watch my brother play in high school or watch either sibling move onto sports in their college years. And it wasn’t until I traveled to New Zealand and realized how out of shape I was that I finally sought out a team of my own. After a jam packed tour of the country did I realize I needed some activity back at home so, not long after I returned, did I search for a team looking for a new player.

That’s when I found these girls.

The Just For Kicks Chicks!

 photo 10400952_535648114838_5213_n_zpsdcc4396b.jpg

I’m in the back row, third from the coach on the left.

We played for the joy of the sport and the fun of being apart of a team. We weren’t very good and didn’t really play to win (though a win would have been nice) but we had a great time together. I made some awesome friends that I’m still in touch with these days and I have the best memories of attempting the goalie position.

Now a days I’m the mom on the side line. My little mister has taken up soccer and loves it! I’m lucky because my husband ALSO loves soccer. So we’re just a little family of soccer lovin’ people! This is my son’s third season in AYSO and he’s a promising young player. We’re actually considering letting him try out for the Spring season of what’s called Arsenal level soccer. A little more than AYSO and a little less than club. Not quite the commitment as club but a little more structured than AYSO.

 photo 65AE1464-34FE-4E32-8DED-2AD46670E3D7-5703-00000215FC290062_zps4b7e307f.jpg

There’s my number 9!!

Femme Fitale Fit Club” style=

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Life, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Workout Wednesday: Soccer All The Way!

  1. Congrats on your new job. Did you watch the World Cup this year? I was introduced to it in the late 1980’s when I started dating my husband. He is originally from Cameroon, a football country. Visiting from #wowlinkup

    • Mrs. Geek says:

      Oh yes we did! There was lots of hollering in our house. It was very exciting. We started playing in the late 80’s and it stuck. My dad coached and my siblings played through college. It’s a family thing 🙂

  2. Congratulations on the new job and women in soccer ROCK! OH and you meal prep – can you come do it for me? I am soo lazy when it comes to that!!! But I know it saves so much time. How do you like being a soccer mom? #wowlinkup

    • Mrs. Geek says:

      Thanks! Yeah meal prep is time consuming but I give myself all of Sunday and keep it simple. I also crock pot a lot during the week to freshen up our menu. I love being a soccer mom. And I love watching the little one develop his skills. He’s really doing well and I can tell he loves it.

  3. Nice to see you and your family have fitness and soccer in common. Congratulations on the new job, Katie!

Leave a Reply

