Too In My Head

Last night I went out with my running group and worked up a good sweat. It had been a week since my last run and I was feeling it. Everything hurt from my toes to my hip to my heels and my lower back. I felt every step, every turn, every hill. And Tuesdays are always hilly days.

The group plan was a 5 mile run and I had also planned on this. But as I got going, I knew I’d have to edit the run a bit and cut it shorter. 5 miles in that heat and humidity along with my lack of running lately would spell disaster. So I went out, tackled the hills and made it a good 4 mile jaunt/walk.

But the whole time I ran, I couldn’t shake the thoughts in my mind. I was hoping the run would free me from the nagging thoughts that were tugging at me all weekend but that wouldn’t be the case. Instead I carried everything with me and felt it in every step. Instead of feeling light and carefree and happy to run, I felt slogged down, heavy, and grasping to finish.

It didn’t help that I’m just starting my new cycle so running isn’t just uncomfortable due to the heat but also what’s going on in my system didn’t help, either. Between the physical discomfort and the overabundance of thoughts, my run sucked. It was tiring, hot, overburdened and uncomfortable. I still managed to rake in 4 miles but it was slow going.

826

As for the plan I had set out on Saturday, I’ve kinda stuck to it and then again, I’ve kinda strayed from it, too. I didn’t get my run Saturday due to staying up past 1am with my sister-in-law talking. They were visiting from Spokane and were here till Monday. That meant my whole weekend was pretty off.

Sunday I did take a walk with the kids to the park and played soccer, but no swimming and no running either. I took my rest day Monday and ran last night, though I was a mile short. I’m walking at lunch today, going to get in about 2 miles then I’ll run again on Thursday. I hope by then my mind is clearer and my body will be up for the run.
Femme Fitale Fit ClubThe Hump Day Blog Hop

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Goals, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Too In My Head

  1. Are you a chef LOL? Anyway, I hate working out in humid weather. I did a few weeks back on the stairs and I was miserable. I normally do 12 to 14 times and I could only do 10 times. #wowlinkup

  2. I hope things turn around for you soon! Running in the heat and humidity is a killer…you still did a good job! #wowlinkup

  3. irisbloom5 says:

    Heat I can deal with, but if there’s humidity…. I pretty much die on those days.

  4. Amanda H says:

    Sorry you had a less than ideal run but good for you for getting out there in less than ideal conditions! And hey, a bad run is infinitely better than no run, right? #wowlinkup

  5. I don’t mind running in hot weather – actually I noticed if I can get my mind right I can push through it. I do understand by less than ideal conditions but I normally feel better once completed. #wowlinkup

  6. Hi, I came here from the blog hop although it’s too late. I have my running goals too, hope to achieve them one day.

    Najmah from The Fitness Bricks

Leave a Reply

