When Life Throws You Lemons, You Gotta Duck and Weave

On Saturday I got my ass outta bed and got dressed to run. I had set up a date with my mother-in-law/running partner to hit the trails near our houses so I knew I couldn’t skip it. It wouldn’t be fair to them. So up I went before 6am to be at our meeting point by 7 when I heard my son ask me if he could join me. I didn’t even know he was awake but I agreed as long as he got up quickly and got his bike to the garage around back so we could pack it into the car and go.

I was prepared for a 4-5 mile run just to maintain what little progress I had made that week. I only ran on Tuesday so I didn’t want to skip this one and totally lose ground but I couldn’t do the distances I was once doing. I had to be realistic and just run as long as I felt good. With my son by my side we tackled the trail and the hot rising sun and put down a good 2 miles before he got off his ride and looked at me funny.

He didn’t seem like himself. He’s very talkative and for the majority of the run he’d been silent. Odd. Then when he didn’t feel like riding any more, I knew something was up. He’d done this trail with me back when I was running 7+ on the weekends and didn’t complain at all but here he was, giving up at 2 miles.

Turns out he wasn’t feeling well. His eyes were glassy and he just didn’t feel 100% so we turned it around and headed back to go home and spend the day bored as hell just laying around and resting. Our bodies needed it even if we didn’t want to admit it.

Untitled
Even with the little one not feeling great, we got in a decent run. Thankfully because that would be the last run I’d get in this week.

I had on the schedule another 4.5 mile run on Tuesday but I’m finishing up a quilt and needed that extra time so it can be done in time to gift it to the birthday girl. Thursday would be my next running day but I have an engagement party to attend so no time that day either. My next available running date is Saturday morning and I don’t plan to miss it.

My calves are back to normal and I think my feet have adjusted to my new shoes. For a moment there I thought I was injured but I think it was just my legs adjusting to the new kicks. The only ouchy I have lately has been my hip. It’s tightening up on me again. Probably because I’m not walking or running as frequently as I want to.

But that all will change in the coming weeks. I had an interview on Monday for the school district we live in. I was offered a slot in the substitute teacher pool for the 2014-2015 school year. Last time I was in the classroom was over 7 years ago so I’m a bit nervous, to say the least. The change in job will open up my time, though. I’ll have time to get more done during the week and I’ll have days off here and there so I won’t be as pressed to get things done after work when I have so little free time.

I’m also hoping with the change in scenery and being able to work in field in which I have a lot of passion about will lower my stress levels and bring back the joy I had one as a teacher. I have no expectations at this point in time but I have hope. Lots and lots of hope!

Femme Fitale Fit Club
About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Life, Running, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to When Life Throws You Lemons, You Gotta Duck and Weave

  1. I love it when my son wants to run with me. Hope he’s feeling better 🙂

    • Mrs. Geek says:

      Much better thanks! It seemed to be that he just needed a day off from swimming and being super active. Just some down time although by the end of the day he was antsy to be moving again 🙂

  2. Aw, too bad your son wasn’t feeling well. I hate when my planned runs don’t go to plan. Congrats on the new job!

  3. Life is nothing without hope and I hope your son feels better soon if not already. I hate it when my children are sick. And nothing better than doing what you are passionate about. I am sure you got the new gig. #wowlinkup

    • Mrs. Geek says:

      Agreed. My husband has said he’d rather I fail at something I love than stay with something I don’t out of comfort. So off I go to begin teaching again!

  4. Everyone needs a little downtime! I actually think I’m overdue for mine. Good luck with the new job possibilities!! #wowlinkup

  5. Amanda H says:

    Hope your son is feeling better! Congrats on the new job and good luck! #wowlinkup

  6. Pingback: Fitness Friday: What’s The Plan Man? | Running With A Purpose

Leave a Reply

