Truce

Finally, I’m calling a truce. A truce between me and running.

Last night I went out the with Brea Runners and did a partial run. I say partial because a) I didn’t run the full 5 miles listed and instead took a short cut making it only 3.93 miles, b) I did my usual 4:1 intervals but walked a good portion due to this MASSIVE hill I didn’t feel like running, and c) I’m breaking in newish shoes and could feel a tug in my heel. NOPE! Not going back to that injury so I half-assed most of that run.

IMG_4980.JPG

Hello, new shoes!

But I think the point here is that I ran last night. I got out there and jogged/ran/walked my way through an almost 4 mile route. More than I’ve done in a week.

Does this mean my little hiatus from running is over? I can’t say. I’m still a little blah about the whole thing even with training on my mind. So I called a truce. I would scale back my routes to 3-4 miles and take my time running them. But I would get out there at least 3 times a week.  I promised that as long as I wasn’t expected to log the mileage I was hitting in June.

Truthfully, this is all my husband’s doing. He offered me this challenge to run three days a week and even offered to take over soccer practice duties for our son. This was a major factor. For some reason the region likes to host practices on Tuesdays and Thursdays which is same schedule as our running group. I mean, I could run on my own but I know damn well if I’m carpooling with my mother-in-law, I’m more enticed to actually show up. And if I have other runners beside me, even if I don’t say much, I’m more likely to finish my run.

So, I’m taking him up on his offer. It’ll have to be a balancing act because I’m the co-team mom so I’ll have to show up to a practice or two. But I know if I want to get through 13.1 miles in November without injury, I have to run.

Femme Fitale Fit Club
About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Life, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Truce

  1. Sometimes the need or inclination to run ebbs and flows. It’s ok and hey you got out there and hammered almost 4 miles. I know the feeling when motivation wanes – perhaps you just need more rest. Either way good job getting out there! #wowlinkup

    • Mrs. Geek says:

      Thanks. A lot of my running friends have said the same. I guess it wouldn’t be a big deal if I wasn’t supposed to be training right now! Yikes…with that on my back I do feel the pressure to be running even though I don’t feel like it.

  2. Good for you! #wowlinkup

  3. Are you training for a half marathon and which one are you doing? We all have those blah periods when it come to exercise, so don’t feel bad. #wowlinkup

    • Mrs. Geek says:

      Yes I am training. I’m running the Rock N Roll Half in Vegas this November. It’ll be my first half marathon. If I wasn’t training I’d probably not be pushing so hard to get back on track but since these lulls are normal but I know I need to be running to be in shape for 13 miles!!! Yikes!

Leave a Reply

