This Post Has No Title

I had no clue what to title this entry. So it shall be known as the post with no name.

Also I’m lazy and didn’t feel like putting in a lot of effort on a title.

I’ve been on a running sabbatical, AKA I haven’t felt like running lately so I stopped going. It’s as simple as that. Burn-out, hit the wall, lost interest, all of this applies to my running. Instead I’ve been putting a lot of time and effort into my writing and quilting hobbies. I finished a quilt and started two new ones and a handy-dandy reversible tote, too. My sewing machine has not had much of a break these days and I can’t say I’m upset about it. Sewing has been a great outlet lately and I’m enjoying this creative side to life. You can check out my posts about it here.

But in the back of my mind I knew I needed to run again because a) I know working out make me feel better and b) I have a half marathon in 3 months. It’s time to start training if I want to survive the 13.1 miles of my race.

So I went out last night with the Brea Runners and fought through the dry heat on a course I’m familiar with. Funny thing to note, whenever I take a break from running, I always return on a Tuesday and that’s the day we run hills. It’s feels like karma has a wicked sense of humor. I stop running then when I’m ready to return, running bites me in the ass. I have to stop making Tuesday my return days.

852014

Anywho, I ran. It was a 5 mile course up the hills and through the woods trails that we’ve done a number of times. And yesterday it wasn’t horribly hot, just 86 degrees and dry as all hell. Even so, I stuck to my plan to run 4 and walk 1 as far as I could. Turns out, I didn’t do so bad.

5202014

This is the same route done in May. As you can see, there is a smidge of difference in the distance but overall I’ve improved this course by a minute and a half! So even on my worst days I’m still running better each time.

Today I’m definitely feeling the push from yesterday. I’m so sore along my hips, lower back and down my left calf. The calf pain is different, though. It feel like a circulation issue with lots of pressure and achiness rather than muscle soreness. It’s been bugging me on and off all day, throbbing and aching. I’m hoping it’ll stop soon because we plan to run tonight to keep up the pace. I can’t run tomorrow because I’m signing up to co-Team Parent my son’s soccer team (yikes!) and the first meeting isis after work. Instead, we have planned a family run tonight, something small like 3 miles or so.

Hoping this leg issue works itself out soon and that my mojo is slowly making its way back!

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

