A Little Bit Of Progress

Things at the homestead have been the usual, busy and fast paced. This weekend my husband and I celebrate our first year anniversary. It’s hard to believe that it’s already been a whole freakin’ year but we’re happy and still very much loving life together.

557962_10100697513803658_1432425312_n

I’m not posting nearly as much lately because of this fast paced life we have going on for us but I’m still running and seeing gains in my running progress. Along with the positive running improvements, I’m also seeing some awesome body progress. It’s slow going but the proof is in the pictures.

At the beginning of February my family started a challenge. It ran from February to April and although I didn’t come out on top, I did see a 6lb loss and lots of inches gone. Even with this proof in the numbers, I didn’t quite see it myself. So this weekend I set myself up to take some progress pictures and I was happy to see the side by sides.

In the past 4 months I’ve lost a total of 10lbs and lots of inches. When you are looking at yourself everyday, it’s easy to miss the little changes. This is why I take the pictures. They may not be flattering or pretty but they give me a sense of accomplishment.

My clothes are fitting looser and my pace is faster. Lots of little gains all over. And just the past month I’ve started following the IIFYM eating plan where you focus on your macros and make sure you hit your protein, carb, and fat numbers daily. I’ve seen huge improvements in my waist, tummy, and my overall health since starting.

Soon here I’ll start training for my half marathon in November. I’ll be picking up the extra mileage by following a running schedule that fit pretty well to what I already do now. I was happy to find a training schedule that runs 16 weeks and is a Tues/Thurs/Saturday schedule with cross training on Wednesdays and a recovery run on Sundays. This means I can keep running with the Brea Runners and it won’t disrupt our already busy weeks.
half

While I didn’t get to run my May race, I’ve got two more scheduled: a 10k in June and a 5k in July. There may not be many posts and there may be big gaps between updates but there will still be running. Crossing fingers I stay healthy and fit and see another 10lbs gone by race time!

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Goals, Life, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Little Bit Of Progress

  1. Martha B says:

    Absolutely incredible results! You deserve them for all your hard work! I’m so happy for you and your healthy choices!

    • Mrs. Geek says:

      Thanks Martha! It’s a slow process but I’m pretty happy so my progress so far. Here’s to another 4 months of healthy choices!!!

Leave a Reply

