Pre-Race: Yorba Linda Red Shirt 5k

I have a race this weekend. If I sound really casual about it, maybe it’s because I am. this race feels like it’s kinda sneaked up on me even though it’s all over my calendars both at work and at home. I knew this weekend was a race weekend but it didn’t seem to phase me.

Maybe it’s because it is race #5 of this year. Maybe it’s because I usually run on Saturdays as it is so this isn’t out of the norm. Or maybe it’s because I just haven’t had enough brain space or energy to put towards thinking about it.

Either way… I have a race this weekend.

To fulfill my May race I signed up for a 5k near me. I’ll be running in a big park that I hope has shade because lately we’ve been hitting the 100’s temp-wise. And this is a late starting race (9am as opposed to 7 am) so I’m crossing my fingers this weekend cools down some. By 7am this week we’ve been clearing 75 degrees and hitting the 80’s by 9am. Ugh…

Along with not thinking about this race, I haven’t really been training for it, either. It just adds to the listen of proof that I’m very apathetic about it. While I may not have been training or specifically running 3 miles to prep for Saturday, I have kept up my walking and running routines that I usually have. I try to walk at lunch (as long as the heat doesn’t try to kill me). Lately I’ve upped my mileage for those walks from 1.6 miles to just under 2 miles.

20140516-073437.jpg

And I ran on Tuesday like I always do even though it was about 96 degrees when we took off. Luckily, our route was a shady trail. I did 5 miles on Tuesday and found myself setting a new benchmark for this trail. It was a proud moment for me to see how far I’ve come.

20140516-073423.jpg

While I did put my walking and running on the back burner to keep myself from having a heat stroke out on the road, I did up my swimming. The pool has been open and very busy in our complex. And it feel great to take a dip after a long hot day. So when I’m not running, I’m swimming both to keep cool and to get in some cross training.

I will admit, swimming doesn’t feel like a workout because you can’t sweat. And when I don’t feel like I’m sweating, it doesn’t feel like a workout. Maybe that’s just me but I’m serious. If it wasn’t for my heart rate jumping up and my breathing getting heavy, I wouldn’t consider swimming laps that much of a workout. But I digress…

For now I’m going to focus on my eating, making sure I’m not digesting anything that will upset my stomach or slow me down. And tonight I’ll work on getting a decent amount of sleep before waking up and starting my day with race #5!

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Races, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pre-Race: Yorba Linda Red Shirt 5k

  1. Pingback: Yorba Linda Red Shirt 5k = Failed! | Running With A Purpose

Leave a Reply

