Speed Demon

I’m HEALED! Sorta…

Whatever bug I caught a couple of weeks ago seems to have let go of my body and left the building. THANK GOODNESS! Another week of being sick and I would have lost my damn mind.

With this flu taking me out for some time, I hadn’t been able to workout regularly like before. I was really looking forward to getting back to running with the group again. Then we received an email that our son’s baseball practice schedule had changed. While this change made it much easier on my husband and me to get to his practices without a rush, it meant that running Tuesdays and Thursdays would be out of the question until his season is over.

I was a little heart broken over this decision but I also realized that trying to get my family and myself all prepped and ready to go on those days and then finding the time to leave work early to make it to practice while dressed to run right after, was stressing me out. I’ll miss the long miles and the comradery of the group but I don’t miss the rush to get there on time with everything else that needed to be done on those days. I didn’t realize how much pressure I was under with our old schedule and trying to make everything work. So with a heavy heart, I took a step back and made a promise to return to the group once this baseball season was done in May.

Without the group runs on Tuesdays and Thursdays, my whole workout schedule needed to be revamped so I made a promise to myself to get real comfy with the treadmill at the gym. I have a race at the end of March and another one the weekend after. Two back to back races. To make sure I keep up my pace and keep myself from getting injured, I would still need to run but on my own. Unfortunately, the best time to go is at 5am…ugh.

The worst part about a 5am wake up call is the waking up. Once I’m up, things are good and if I’m at the gym by 5:15, I can get in a good run and be home in time to wake up my son and even attempt to put makeup on (a goal I’m always trying to achieve because I love makeup and playing with it). But there is something about waking up at that ungodly hour just to go sweat that can be really unappealing. But, this works best for us. If I go early, I get it out of the way, we all get up on time, and then the rest of the day is free for baseball practice and dinner together as a family.

The decision was made, then. No more group runs for now and early morning workouts are the deal of the day. Now to get used to running on a treadmill.

I’ve run on the treadmill before but it was always with a notion that there was something better. I love running outside, on the road or trails. I like the freedom of running along the sidewalks and with friends. So running on a treadmill was kinda blah and only second best. Probably why whenever I stepped on one I didn’t last very long. But that needed to change. I would need to get friendly with one and learn to love it.

Last Wednesday I set out to run a 5k loop on the treadmill. My husband has been challenging me to run without walking and I’ve been able to do it once. But that one time was enough to push me to keep trying.

Well, I ended up not only running completely without walking but I was able to come in under 35 minutes which is my fastest 5k time in a race! And it felt pretty good to run after so much time on the couch mending from my stupid cold. This was what I needed to get motivated to up my pace and work at my increasing my racing speed. I am on a mission!

 photo D460572D-1227-48B1-8885-B97BF12D2582_zpseeqpjcix.jpg

34:46 5k + 2 min cool down

Then Saturday rolled around and I got some much needed rest. I still have issues sleeping at night because I wake up coughing. And when I wake up coughing, it tends to last for some time because I just. Can’t. STOP! It’s very annoying and I never know when a jag will hit and I can’t get back to sleep. So I woke up rested and ready to run. And run I did!

 photo DE474F4B-17A5-439E-9BF4-32804FA0239D_zps3kk7nukj.jpg

34:30 5k + 2 min cool down

That would be 15 seconds faster than my last run! Yes, I know that 15 seconds in anything else doesn’t seem like much but in running and for me, 15 seconds is HUGE! I mean, we’re talking about a girl who didn’t make the soccer team in high school but I couldn’t run the mile in under 15 minutes. The girl with knee problems since 6th grade and asthma since 3rd grade. The girl who thought running was the worst thing ever and never saw herself capable of running 3 miles WITHOUT WALKING!

I’m feeling pretty good right now with my running abilities. I’m seeing improvements in both my speed and my stamina. I can now consistently run 3 miles without walking and I can do it at race time, on a treadmill or just on a weekly training route. This, my friends and readers, is something I never thought possible and yet, here I am, making it reality.

The husband and I are signed up together for my next race, the 2014 Reaching for the Cure 5k race. If you want to help out, you can donate here for a good cause. They are trying to raise $500,000 to go towards cancer research for children.

Click Here to Donate

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Life, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Speed Demon

  1. Isn’t running AMAZING — I love when you have those moments where you really realize just how awesome you’re feeling and performing!

    • Mrs. Geek says:

      Completely agree! Especially when it wasn’t something on your radar and all the sudden, BAM! You feel it and know it. it’s very cool.

  2. Kristin says:

    Fabulous!!! I love reading how happy you are!! It makes me smile!

    • Mrs. Geek says:

      Thanks! Feeling pretty good today after another great run this morning. Things seem to be falling into place.

  3. Pingback: Pre-Race: Reaching For The Cure Run & Ride 5k | Running With A Purpose

  4. Pingback: Reaching For The Cure Run & Ride 5k | Running With A Purpose

Leave a Reply

