Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired!

I am so tired of being sick and tired!

The last week and a half I’ve been fighting some gnarly flu/cold/plague. It started at 3:30 in the morning with a sore throat that was killer. Totally thought I had strep. Then it traveled into my chest and made me hoarse. That was a fun two days of sounding like my husband, so much so my son had to ask who was speaking to him because he couldn’t tell us apart.

Now I’m dealing with a cough that sends me into fits so bad my eyes water and I gag. It’s not a party over here.

Last night, out of desperation due to coughing constantly and little to no sleep, I drugged myself into a coma. I was so dead asleep my husband came home and I didn’t notice him come into the house or into our bed. I was stone cold out! I got a good 8 1/2 hours of deep drugged sleep but woke up feeling groggy and dead. Do I feel better? Yes, in fact. My cough seems to be subsiding and I’m not being driven into fits of hacking anymore. Do I feel well? Not entirely and I can’t figure out if that’s because I’m so tired after taking Nyquil last night or if it’s because I’m still fighting some bug.

And let’s not talk about working out! I haven’t had a good sweat in almost two weeks and I’m starting to feel antsy. The other night I pulled out some hand weights and in between coughing and resting, I did some work on my arms. I even got out my Bosu at one point to add in some core work. I’m just tired of being sick and I’m ready to get moving again. But I don’t want to push it and end up feeling crappy or get sick again. Plus I doubt my fellow gym goers will appreciate my colorful and loud coughing fits while I trudge along on the machine next to them.

I mentally feel ready to run and workout again but am I ready? I may go to the gym tonight and at least get in a 3 mile walk on the treadmill and TRY to run a bit just to see if I can manage that. And tonight I plan to sleep without help from a bottle o’ Nyquil and see if I can make it through the whole night without waking up in a coughing fit. Crossing my fingers both those things can be accomplished because I’m winning our family biggest loser challenge and I don’t want to lose my grasp on first place! And we have our next race scheduled at the end of March in Irvine for the Pediatric Cancer Research Foundation. I need to get training so I can beat my last 5k time!

Here’s to healing!

 photo 3207efb3-fa44-4c2a-9040-da01221bb8bf_zps2804e76f.jpg

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Life, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired!

  1. Kristin says:

    Oh, I really hope you feel better soon!! Ugh, that is never fun and it sounds like you’re having a terrible time. Sorry for that!! I wish you luck on your 3 mile walk!

  2. This crap going around is BRUTAL. KILLER. Sending you every single healthy vibes I have in me!

Leave a Reply

