Bitten, Again!

In 2012 I vowed to run 12 races. Whether done well or awfully, I would run all 12 in the span of 12 months, making it roughly a race a month if I could manage it. I did manage all twelve even though I had a few months that were doubled up with races. But I still managed to pull through and fulfill my goal of 2012. Yay me!

Because of that goal, this blog is in existence. And because of that year, I’m still running.

After 2012 I upped my miles and continued to run, taking on a race here and there. Nothing as big as taking on 12 in a year but I ran my January race and then a March race, both I had done before. Then I got injured and spent most of 2013 healing. I didn’t race again until January of 2014.

Then in January I ran a race and felt pretty good. Good enough to sign up again in February. In February I PRed with my best time in two years, 35:09.

It’s happening. The itch to race has returned. Now that February’s race is complete, I’m already scanning for my next race, preferably one during the last weekend of March when we have no baseball. At the same time, my sister is pleading with me to run a race in her ‘hood the first weekend of April. I want to run with her and a race by the beach sounds awesome but it conflicts with baseball so I’m debating whether I can make it work. But the fact that I’m considering it at all says something.

It says I’ve been bitten by the racing bug again!

Growing up, we never ran a race. We played soccer and others sports, some of us recreationally and others more seriously but never did we run races. It wasn’t our thing. So I had no clue how addicting the racing culture was. The prep, the training, the gear, the techniques. All these little pieces that come together for what, running from point A to point B? Ridiculous…

But it’s not, it’s totally appealing and very addicting. Never did I expect to be using terms like splits and PR and intervals. All these foreign things are now apart of my daily lexicon. Knowing my current pace is incredibly important, kinda like knowing my social security number. And memorizing each detail of each race already run is like a parent remembering the date of each milestone for their children. It’s crazy how quickly one can become consumed by the mass amount of data collected from each run and the information on eating and proper training before hand.

Seriously. There needs to be an anonymous group for those suffering from a running addiction. Maybe we’ll all sit around and share our medals. And wear our bibs instead of name tags.

Running races is addicting.

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Goals, Races, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bitten, Again!

  1. Kristin says:

    Awe, running is so much fun, isn’t it?! 😉 I know what you mean…I have to know my splits and analyze them after I run or I just don’t feel right with the rest of my day!

Leave a Reply

