Pre-Race: 33rd Race On The Base 5k

This weekend marks my second race of 2014. It will be my second and possibly my last until after May.

On Saturday we will be up bright and freakin’ early to participate in the 33rd Race on the Base in Los Alamitos. I’m running the 5k at 7:20 while my son is running/riding/swimming the reverse kid’s triathlon before me.


This is our first year running this course but not for my mother-in-law. She is participating in her second triathlon on this base and is pretty pumped about it.

To get ready I’ve been crossing training with treadmill workouts and weight training at the gym while still running some decent mileage on Tuesday and Thursdays.  I think I’ll be ready for a 5k. I think.

I have a few concern and one is the amount of time to get ready and get there for such an early and LONG day. We’re talking easy ups and picnics and a change of clothes. Lots of prep-work will have to go into this race especially with the little one riding and swimming in his race.

I’m pretty bummed that he’ll be in the middle of his race while I’m starting mine so that I won’t get to see it all. I may just sneak into my race late so I can at least see him finish. It’s chip timed so my race won’t start till I cross that start line.

But a second thought hit me and it was a pretty sad one. My son starts baseball on March 1st and it would seem to be a pretty all-consuming schedule from here till May. We were shocked to find out how much goes into little league from multiple practices to weekday AND weekend games. We’re already pretty stressed as it is just wondering how we’ll make it work so adding to that races might not be the best thing. For now, I don’t have any other scheduled race events and I probably won’t until his season is over.

Pictures and post-race update to come so check back later!

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Races, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pre-Race: 33rd Race On The Base 5k

  1. Kristin says:

    Well, I’m sorry to hear this will be your last race until after May! 😦 I hope you plan for some great races after that!

Leave a Reply

