Pre-Race: Southern California Half Marathon and 5k

This weekend marks my first race back after a long time off from an injury. It’s been a long road to recovery with lots of emotional lows and many frustrations to boot. Going from consistently running during the week and long distances on the weekend to absolutely NO running was hard on the heart and the soul. It broke me a little. And it took me some time to put all the pieces back together.

I started running again in November 2013 after months of trying here or there only to feel a tug or a pinch that would sideline me over and over. It obviously was NOT the right time to start running. But, after 3 weeks of no exercise and a total break from working out, I went on my first run around Thanksgiving. It was tough but I made it through and didn’t feel any pain. Slowly I built up my endurance and my muscles that were sore from lack of movement. In time I was running better and feeling more comfortable. I walk when there is discomfort and I don’t push myself further than I must.

As of this week, I’m running three days a week and my speed has greatly improved. I hate to jinx myself but I feel as if I’m running faster than I did before my injury! Could it be? Who knows…

On January 11th, I’ll run my first race since March of last year. I’m both nervous and excited. I plan to go out and do my best, run my best, and feel my best. I don’t know what this will lead to. Will I try another year of running a race a month? Will it be my first and last of the year? Whether or not this race leads to anything is not something I’m concerned about. I just want to get out there and run.

 photo 2E113BF3-919C-40C0-B5ED-DB50A3562FD4_zpsrl4pfcvb.jpg

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Races, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

