New Year, New Goals, New Tech

Happy New Year!

Hard to believe that 2 years ago I set out to run 12 races in one year. In 2012 I made it my resolution to run 12 races and to write about them here. And I did just that.

Then 2013 came along and I changed it up. I would focus my training on longer distances and I would aim to run a half marathon in the summer. My very first half marathon!

It was a big goal but totally attainable after running all the miles I did in 2012 and the strength I had built up over the year. As of the beginning of 2013 I was running 5 miles twice a week and longer 7+ mile routes on the weekends. I was on my way!

Then I got injured somewhere around April. I felt a tug in my right heel during a normal weekday run after buying some new shoes. I had changed it up and went with a different brand but realized too late that I had made a mistake. I should have stuck with what I was wearing previously. Instead I came down with plantar fasciitis and thus ended my running schedule for the rest of 2013.

I skipped out on two paid for races and stopped running all together. I tried to keep a regular workout routine but even that was tough to do while dealing with the depression that came with the injury. The extreme change from a weeks of regular running to nothing at all (even walking hurt!) brought me down and made it close to impossible to find joy in any form of exercise.

I wanted to run! I wanted to get back out on the road and log those miles again! But I couldn’t. Plantar fasciitis is one of those injuries you just have to wait out. So I did what I could and then decided in October to take a break entirely from all exercise and just rest that damn heel.

And it worked! After three weeks of no gym, no special classes and no running or walking, my heel no longer felt strained. So I decided to give running a try.

My first few attempts were scary. If I felt the slightest tug, I’d walk and finish out the run with a slower pace. I was so damn scared to ruin the progress I’d made. I didn’t want to hurt any more and I didn’t want to make it so that I couldn’t run again. I was so fearful that I probably made coming back to running that much harder on me.

But over a few weeks of consistently running during the week and on weekends, I started to feel stronger and noticed less pain. I’m now 11 runs in and feeling great. Last night I ran with the group and progressed to a 4:1 run to walk ratio. We covered 4 miles and at a faster pace.

I’m still working out the kinks. I wear my heel inserts and I make sure I wear my long compression socks. I doubt I’ll be changing my shoe brand ever again so let’s hope that these shoes continue to be made. Probably should stock up as soon as possible. I’ve got a new activity monitor, the Polar Loop. So far? Not a perfect product but it syncs with my Polar H7 heart rate monitor band and the data it gives me after each run or walk is worth the bugs that Polar still needs to work out.

And I’ve signed up for my first race! January 11, 2013 I’ll cross the start line for the first time in almost a year. I’d debating if I want to sign up for a few races and make my goals to PR in each of them or if that’s reaching too far so soon after starting back from an injury. But I’m tempted to at least sign up for a few races I ran in 2012 so I can gauge where I am and how far I’ve come, even with a bum heel.

2014 is a new year with new goals and hopes. Here’s to running with a purpose!

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Goals, Races, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year, New Goals, New Tech

  1. fitfor365 says:

    Good luck with the running. I’m a fan of the walk/run routine and used it in today’s run, http://fitfor365.wordpress.com/2014/01/03/run-walk-repeats/

    • Mrs. Geek says:

      Yeah we started with a 3:1 interval but last night my mother-in-law/running partner changed it up to a 4:1 and we did well with it so we’ll probably stick with that for now until I feel like I can run longer. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your comment!

Leave a Reply

