A Year In Contrast

When you are a data collector like I am, it’s hard not to take a peek backwards and compare your progress from one year to the next. In the past, my progress was an upward climb with milestones acquired and records broken. I could look back the year before and see how far I’d come. All the hard work had paid off and it was clear that I had come a long long way.

Well, that was last year. And this year hasn’t been as grand. I’ suffered an injury that put me off running for a long time. From April till just recently, I wasn’t running at all. I couldn’t. A simple two mile jaunt around my neighborhood had my heel screaming in pain and the damn thing just wouldn’t heal. I managed to work out in other ways but never satisfied me like running did. And I missed racing, too.

So just for shits and giggles, I decided to check out my pace and distance this time last year and see how different the two were.

This was last year. On December 8, 2012 I ran the Holiday 5k in 36:14. My slowest pace was 12’04 and my fastest was 11’24. I remember this race. I pushed hard and ran the whole thing without walking. By the end of the year, I tried to run all my 5ks without walking at all and was proud to finish off the year by doing so.

A year later I’m still running but I’m in recovery mode since my injury in April so my pace is much slower and my distance isn’t quite as long. What was my slowest pace last year is almost my fastest this year. I’m running at my fastest, 12’54 and at my slowest 14’22. And I walk… A LOT! Between a side stitch that kicks in around 1.5 miles and the fear that I’ll hurt my heel again, I trot more than run. My total time for this almost 5k is an abysmal 41:33.

What can I gain from this? Well, I have a long way to go before I’m back to my fast, smoother pace. But I did it once so I can definitely do it again. I just need to keep my body in check, stretch and go at a slower pace until I’m fully healed.

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

