My Memory Failed Me

Owww….that’s all I can say right about now. Everything hurts. From my IT bands to my hip flexors to my heels to my lower back. Everything…

It would seem that I allowed myself to forget how awful running is when you first start out. How your whole body feels like it’s being drawn and quartered. It hurts to sit and sometimes I wake up during the night with lower back pains. I just feel beat up after each run.

I didn’t expect it to be this difficult getting back into a routine with running. I knew I’d be slower and run shorter distances at first. But I forget ENTIRELY about the issues I had with my hips when I first started running regularly. Then I remembered the pain I’d feel during a race as my IT bands tightened and made it difficult to finish running. Oh and who could forget the damn side aches I’d get during every run.

As if a door to a secret room of memories has been flung wide open, all the aches and pains I had forgotten about came flooding back.

Ugh… Put some brown hair on this skeleton and that would be me right about now.

Click For Original Source

I’ve started to believe that all runners are masochists at heart. We like pain and discomfort. And for what purpose? To lay down some mileage. To move our butts (that hurt oh so bad). To rack up the miles and racing cred. To say we did it in spite of all the aches and pains and injuries.

We are nuts, I tell ya. Nuts…

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

