Starting Over Sucks

The title says it all. Starting over, from scratch, is shitty. Especially when not long ago you can remember a time when you were at the top of your game. Now, you are like a newborn taking your first steps: it hurts, it’s hard and it sucks.

I am starting over. In April during a nice, casual evening run, I injured my heel. My fault for running when it was already sore but little did I know how much I had injured it and how LONG it would take for the damn thing to heal.

Runners out there, DON’T RUN ON A SORE HEEL! Let the damn thing rest and don’t put any unneeded pressure on it. Take it from me, struggling to start over after one bad run. That was in April and it’s now Thanksgiving and I’m only just starting to run again. And it’s not an easy up-and-go thing. I’m having to start over from the very beginning.

This weekend I ran a little. What I had hoped to be an out for 2 miles and back to 2 miles ended up a loop of just under 3 miles. I find that after I run 1.5 miles my heel starts to pull a bit and I have to slow down. So I this weekend was a reality check for me.

The reality is that I can’t run like I used to. My body isn’t the same, injury or not. All this time off to let my foot mend has brought me back to square one and the sooner I realize this, the better.

So I need to reset my goals. My once was big dream of running a half marathon is needs to be pushed back. I need to refocus on the smaller tasks that a brand new runner needs to work on (ugh!). With the help of FitSugar.com and their list of running goals for beginners, I’ve made a list of things to-do and goals to reach for.

To-Do

  • Try to run with no more than 1-2 days of rest in between. AKA, don’t go three days without running.
  • Keep it short. 2 miles minimum and 3 miles maximum.
  • Stretch after and ice that heel!
  • Get a doctor’s appointment to make sure nothing else is causing the pain.
  • Work on a 3-1 running/walk ratio. 3 minutes running, 1 minute walking.

I’m giving it till January before I make any changes to this list. That gives me 6 weeks to put all these items into practice. At that point I’ll be able to judge where I am and what I need to change. I’ll also be able to judge if I can continue running at all.

Along with this article I’ve also collected an article with suggestions on how to return to running after an injury including how to rehab different injuries like my plantar fasciitis. I’ll be using this info to help on those days off to keep my muscles loose and my foot comfortable.

Accepting that a lot of my apathy has to do with the fact that the only exercise I enjoyed for so long was running and now I can’t do it like I used to is helping. Putting my finger on the root cause of my low energy and my willingness to just let go of everything (from my logging to my UP band usage) has helped at least get the ball rolling. The sooner I’m honest with myself about my fitness and my needs, the sooner I’ll be able to get on track.

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Goals, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Starting Over Sucks

  1. Sending you lots of healthy vibes! Starting over really is the worst…

Leave a Reply

