In With The New

I’m not very good at keeping up with certain things. My health, for one, is the last thing I’ll make appointments for and keep up. It’s bad, I know it. I could use a check-up but I allow my life to get in the way and it slides to the back burner.

I’m also horrible at clothes shopping. I’m currently wearing a pair of jeans that have been too big for two years and counting yet shopping for a new pair just seems downright awful so I stick to these old friends and deal with the sagging butt and loose waistband.

Along that line, I’ve been in need of new running shoes for quite some time. With as much running I’m doing and the additional length I’ve been building up, my shoes are falling short. They’ve gone thin inside and I can tell they aren’t offering the support I need anymore.

This weekend I was a good girl and actually made time to purchase some new running kicks.

 photo feb3b255-5add-479c-898a-0778243916d6_zps56c0bb44.jpg

Yay new shoes!

I had a gift certificate from my wonderful man and used it to pick up these sweet Saucony running shoes. And it doesn’t hurt that they are pink, too! After years of fighting, I’m falling in love with pink and all its shades. My favorite hair color at the moment is Hot Hot Pink!

I’ve also been seeing a trainer on Wednesday nights at The YMCA. Another thoughtful gift from The Guy. I have 8 sessions with him and I’m into week 5 or 6. He’s given me a routine to work on and we’re up to 4 rounds of 8 reps for each workout. It’s a nice routine and gives me a variety of areas I’m working on.

 photo 5d0f3821-7a6e-40a8-91c0-78c216e0a4c9_zps9c22e927.jpg

And to think I started all this with light weights (5-10 lbs) and holding a plank for only 20 secs. I can now blast through this workout without dropping my weights and I’m drenched by the end. It’s been a trial to figure out how to use proper form for each move and get the most out of each move. Either way I’m proud that I’ve made this workout my own. Tonight we’ll start a new routine.

As for running while it’s still there and I’m still doing it, though not as much lately. I’ve been planning my wedding and this month was a big one. Lots of appointments and meetings to discuss everything from napkins to linens to flowers to dresses. So many of my weekday runs with The Brea Runners have taken a backseat to get my wedding to-do list checked off.

When I do run, we’re covering between 4.5-5 miles on Tuesday and Thursdays and between 6-7 miles on Saturday. This past Saturday I was a little groggy and slightly hung over from a night of wine and cheese but I still made it out and ran pretty well in my opinion.
 photo ea64240d-99f2-48aa-9a3f-364c421b7da9_zpsbfa428c6.jpg

I’m still not fast and probably never will be but I’m ok with that. As long as I keep setting up goals and knocking them down, I’m good. and for now my goal is to break 50 miles in a month. March is obviously not going to do that what with all the days spent wedding planning and not running.

I may not be hitting my mileage goals right now but I’m not stopping. I continue to get out there and run when I can while I keep up my routines at the gym. It’s the least I can do while things are hectic.

Now if I could just get my eating habits to stabilize…

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

