Beginning of the End

It is officially the holiday season. That means it’s only about 6 weeks until the year 2012 comes to a close. My goal for 2012 was to run 12 races. As of today, I have completed 10 races ranging from 5k to 12k in distance. In the next 6 weeks I have scheduled 3 more races. Count them 3!

Yes, when January 1st rolls around, I will have completed all 12 races plus a bonus 13th race. Before November closes up and December descends on us with all it’s holiday festivities and whatnot, I have two races to run and I’ll officially have met my 2012 resolution!

I got an email about the first race, a Turkey Trot 10k the Saturday after Thanksgiving. As I read through it, I realized that the route I would run for this 10k is the same as the Girls On The Go 10k race I ran in September. Ha! Go figure! Once I realize that this was the case, I got really excited. That would mean I could check my time against September and see how much I’m improved over the last 2 months. And the races as almost to the date! I ran the first 10k on 9/22 and this race will be run on 11/24.

I’m curious to see if I cross the finish line fast this time around!

About a month ago an opportunity to do an electric night 5k race came up for November 30th. My sister let me know about it and we planned to have a group run the fun run together. We don’t plan to run it for time, but just to enjoy the lights and the music and each other. This is my bonus race (technically).

After that I get a week to rest then I run again, my last and final race of 2012. It’ll be the same Holiday 5k I ran last December, another race that I can match against my 2011 results and see how my time has approved.

This year has flown by and maybe it was because I spent most of it running towards this big goal I was determined to accomplish. 12 races isn’t something to shake your tail at, it’s a big goal with lots of consideration and preparation for each race to keep in mind.

Did I do this whole year perfectly? Fuck no…There were many breaks in my routine (a habit I’m noticing now) and there were lots of preconceived notions about my abilities and my running that kept me from hitting those high notes. But along side all of that are the good. The fact that even with breaks here and there, I never stopped. I never canceled a race or didn’t show up. I kept running and I worked to complete this year as I had promised myself.

Now, like all my races, I am determined to cross that finish line running. No walking, no limping.

I will finish strong.

I will finish.

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Goals, Races, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

