Training: C25k

I love data. I love check lists, seeing my accomplishments visually. I love applications and little programs that make me excited to get up, move and then check in so I can view my improvement in numbers and charts.

Knowing this, I’m amazed it took me so long to download the Couch To 5k application to my Android. I had heard of it a number of times. I have friends that not only used it but endorsed it to anyone who listened.

Bonus: The lite version is free!

Well I finally came to my senses and decided to try it out. Since I’m now trying to run in the mornings to save time after work for homework help with my son and making dinner for the family, I’ll be running more consistently. Which means I’ll be able to stick to a training program.

C25k Schedule

Then I made a pact with myself this weekend: I would get up everyday this week and run before work. It’s something I’ve been able to accomplish before, the getting up early and making time to run. But running everyday? Now that’s a challenge.

So I made a plan and set up as much the night before as I could. We packed my son’s lunch and laid out his clothes. I had all my gear for running ready next to my shoes in the living room close to the front door. I adjusted my alarm a few minutes earlier so that if I decided to hit snooze once or twice, it wouldn’t set me back too much. And I even made it into bed before 10pm.

As silly as this may sound, I also made sure I told myself multiple times before dozing off that I would get up. That mantra before drifting off definitely set the right mood because as the alarm sounded in early morning hours, I got up and found myself ready to go.

Setting off from the apartment, the murky greyness of that pre-dawn sky welcomed me with a humid breeze. I set off with my music playing and my new C25k program on and guiding me.

I was worried at first that starting this beginners program would discourage me from running but instead it did the opposite. I found myself wanting to complete Day 1 so I could move on to Day 2. It’s that gamer mentality. Give me a set of objectives to accomplish a goal and, DAMN IT! I’ll do it!

Warming up took me half a block when I started to see a few fellow morning risers out and gettin’ it done, a couple of them with their four legged buddies. When the chime rang for me to start running, I leaned in and gave it a go. I took off and turned a corner to follow up a slow, sloping hill when suddenly the northern horizon flashed quickly. A few bouncing lights rolled through the inky haze and I smiled.

That was when I realized I could do it. I could make it happen this week.

Day one complete. Bring on Day 2!

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

