Gettin’ My Run On!

Since returning from my trip, my training has pretty much sucked. I haven’t had the energy or the motivation to run without whining or walking a lot. My poor sister has had to put up with a lot of complaining from me.

I’m glad she’s a good sport and continues to push me.

On top of that we’ve been having a heat wave here in California that’s had the temps up over 100 lately. And for safety reasons we try not too run after the sun sets too low and it gets too dark. Much of our skyline route is twisty and winds up through neighborhoods without sidewalks. So we’ve been running as late as we can to avoid the heat but not too late to run after dark.

It’s a weird balance we’re trying to find.

Nonetheless, we’ve updated our route to extend out to 4.5 miles.

Our original route cut off at a steep hill which we would coast down and then finish our run home ending at 3.5 miles total. Not a bad run but we wanted to add to it.

Adding on that extra mile was scary at first. I didn’t think my legs and body could last because I was struggling just to get through the 3.5 miles we were running originally. But with my sister training for a half marathon, she needed more mileage during the week to support her lengthy runs on the weekend so I agreed to add the extra mile to my own training.

As of last night, I was able to complete this run with only two points where I had to slow down to catch my breath or stretch a tightening muscle.  My time wasn’t what I had hoped for (56 minutes) but the fact that I could run up the hills and finish without walking much is huge for me.

Now I know I can run this route without walking and I can run it at a consistent 12 minute mile pace. With this knowledge I can build on it and work on my pace, improving it bit by bit.

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

