Running Around The World

Recently, I left my home of California to travel around the world to the country of Georgia. My son has family there on this father’s side and we decided to go and meet them all.

While I was there, I made a promise to myself not to let my training slide. I still  have a few more races this year to complete my goal so I couldn’t let my two weeks away keep me from running.

Instead my digestive system got in the way and the fact that I never fully adjusted to the 11 hour time difference. But I still got in a run along the river running through the city of Tbilisi, Georgia.

I took some pictures along the way that morning. It was cool but warming up. The weather was in the nineties the whole time we were there, another deterrent from running.

image

The city was beautiful and I enjoyed my time there. And in the morning when the streets are a little quiet, it’s perfect for a jog.

image

Passed this status along the way. The Georgia country has some beautiful and amazing statues of all kinds, from the depiction of their heritage to some artistic beauties.

image

Along with the original architecture of the castles and churches that surround the city, they have also added some very modern structures. This bridge lights up at night and shows the future of Georgian structures.

The run wasn’t great. I did more walking than I would have liked. But I still got out and moved. Because my phone didn’t have an international plan, I didn’t have a GPS tracker that could tell me how far I had run. But the whole route itself took me about 50 minutes.

I’m glad I did it. I’m glad I took the time for myself to get out and move despite the tummy issues and the lack of sleep. It helped me to keep my running goals in focus and now that I’m hope, I’m getting myself back into my routine with ease.

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running Around The World

  1. Pingback: Gettin’ My Run On! « Running With A Purpose

Leave a Reply

