There Is A Hole In Your Plan

Every time a race rounds the corner, I begin my little prep-plan. I watch what I eat a day or two before. I make sure most of my calories are from veggies, fruits, potatoes and stick with water for my beverage of choice. Then I stretch and make sure I’m in bed at a decent time so that I’m not tripping over myself in exhaustion while I run.

I take care and put a lot of effort into my planning before race day no matter if it’s a 5k, 8k or 10k.

But what about my runs throughout the week? I mean, I’m putting down anywhere from 6 to 8 miles a week. Am I putting forth the same amount of effort in my weekly training runs as I am my races?

And the answer is a chagrined no. I kick at the dirt and scuff my toe when I realize I don’t take half as much time and effort during the week when I’m just running to exercise and improve my pace as I do when a race rolls around.

Once I realized this, I thought to myself how foolish of me not to make more appropriate plans during the week for each run I schedule with my sister. No WONDER I’m freaking tired and unable to get through a simple 3.5 mile run. I’m not properly fueling my body and I’m probably loading myself up with food that only slows me down instead of pumping myself full of the energy I need.

Ugh…

So back to the drawing board I go. I gotta make better plans surrounding my food and my running schedule during the week so that I can properly train without a hitch.

If anything I’ll give it a go and see how I feel.

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There Is A Hole In Your Plan

  1. Hi. Im really amazed by how you’re really careful of what you eat and you exercise ALOT, that I must say. πŸ™‚ About me, Im a total opposite of you. I hate waking up in the morning to work out. I dislike the exhaustion. How do you do that? Really, how? πŸ™‚

    • Katie says:

      Hi there Joanne. Well I’ll start off and say any time I’ve tried to wake up and workout in the morning, I’ve failed.. I’m not good at morning workouts myself πŸ™‚ I run in the evening and right now I have a buddy to run with which is a great motivator. Also, when I set this goal to run 12 races, I made sure I scheduled the races months in advance so that I couldn’t change my mind at the last minute. There are costs to each race so I schedule early and pay right away so I have no reason not to run. As for exercising, I enjoy the feeling of being tired and sweaty. It makes the whole thing worth it because I know I’m adding years onto my life. But it’s not always that easy in the beginning. It takes time and I do fall off the wagon on occasion. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

