Thorn In My Side

It seems like I can never run without an issue.

First it was just learning to run without dying. Then I was having issues with my hips.

Now I can’t seem to run without a side cramp kicking in after about 15 minutes.

It’s annoying, let me tell you.

I’ve been working on a few things to help this. I make sure I don’t drink big amount of water/liquids before I run. I try to stop drinking my water about an hour or two before we start off. I also try not to run on a full or empty stomach. And if I eat, I try to eat at least an hour before and mostly carbs like fruits, veggies, rice or potatoes.

Now when I run, I can’t drink water. I try to chew gum to keep my mouth moist but no water while I run unless I’m desperate.

It seems that no matter what I do, eat or don’t eat, drink water or don’t drink water, I still get a side cramp. Never fails. My right side cramps up.

Now I read earlier that a side cramp can be an issue with your internal organs bouncing around and it can cause your connective tissue to stretch on the nerves or some such thing. Sigh…that doesn’t seem like something I have much power over.

So I’m looking for any good tips to prevent side cramps from happening. Some magical suggestion that will make all the pain STOP….ugh.

 

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thorn In My Side

  1. Pingback: My Memory Failed Me | Running With A Purpose

Leave a Reply

