Midway Check Point

When I set out a goal, I don’t take it lightly. So when I got the crazy-ass idea to run 12 races in 2012, I was serious.

Dead serious.

So serious that when my last two races didn’t go so well, I decided to take some time off of running to refocus and come back to it ready to rock.

Up till now I’ve run 6 races with another 3 in the works.

Resolution Run 5k: An annual race of mine that I love. Will do this one every year.

Long Beach Love Birds 5k: Not a favorite. The course was a plain out and back loop along the same path.

Brea Classic 8k: Loved the length and the layout. A great race I’d run again.

Into The Wild OC Trail Race 10k: My best yet. Will do this one again. And again. And AGAIN!

Angels Family Fun Run 5k: My finest run. Completed the race with no walking. A bit too popular for running but nice if I want to snap some pictures for fun.

Beechwood Mad Dash 5k and Kids 1k: Didn’t enjoy due to misunderstanding the course and not completing the race. Received an invalid time.

Next will be a race at the end of this month with another in October and my last in December. There are a few I need to sign up for as they come around to finish up my 12 races. But with the 6 I have run and the 3 I have scheduled, I’m more than half way there.

This goal was not an easy one to undertake. First, I have a small child, one I have to ensure I have care for while I’m waking up super early to run. He’s not old enough for me to bring along to each event unless he’s running too or unless I have someone there to watch him.

Having this responsibility was an element I didn’t take into consideration and it’s been an added stress I didn’t expect. I give racing moms major props for getting up and training for big races while they execute all their mommy jobs at home. I’ve made it this far and I plan to finish but I’m quickly burning out.

I just can’t seem to balance both.

And the preparation that goes into each week before the race was more than I planned for. The time and effort to eat right, stretch, train, and have all the bits and pieces together for a pre-dawn wake up on race morning is more than I can handle.

Am I a pussy for not being able to suck it up and run? Maybe…just a little. And that’s just my honest opinion of myself. I bet this isn’t as big a deal as I’m making it. But I also think I’m working with a highly sensitive system that is thoroughly overloaded at present. We’ve had some personal family issues in the past two months and lots of change (both good and bad) including a death in the family and some drastic changes in the relationships of a few people I care for dearly.

So keeping in mind all I’ve personally dealt with this year and what my family has been through in the last 6 months, maybe this is a lot more than I was expecting and therefore I’m not at my best. While I may be whining and complaining about the early mornings and the tiresome schedule the week before each race, I feel I’ve earned that right to whine.

Either way, I’ve made this a goal and I plan to see it through. Scraped knees and all.

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Goals, Races, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

