Hiatus

Sometimes, no matter how diligent you are about the goals you’ve set, you need to be aware of the moment when it’s time to take a break. Time to recharge and reset.

That moment when you need to step back and reassess what it is you are really trying to achieve.

That moment for me was my last race in May. Instead of the euphoric sense of accomplishment I tend to achieve at the end of a race, I was frustrated, angry, and worst of all, I was done. I didn’t want to race any more.

No more early mornings and week long preparations. No more special diet the morning of and the stress that accompanied every single race. I was done.

Finito!

So I decided after the abysmal performance I eeked out in the my last race that it was a sign I needed a break. Some time to step away from running and to recenter my thinking.

I’m now coming up on a month off and I’ve really slacked. I guess I really took to heart the meaning of a little “break” and turned it into time off away from all physical activity. I think In the past 4 weeks I’ve been active maybe 3 days total. Sigh…

There needs to be a balance between giving yourself a break and keeping up your momentum and I seem to have failed at this. I never meant to give up but just to step back a bit, give myself some breathing room.

This past weekend I did a 2 hour Zumbathon and had a blast. It was the first real exercise I’d had in some time and it felt good. But it also depressed me. How had I let things go so much in such a short amount of time. I know I need to not judge myself so harshly but I was on track to beat my 5k time and I let it go.

What is there to do? Start from scratch!!

After Saturday I decided I need to begin like there was nothing before this. So I did a walk on the treadmill for 25 minutes then ran at a slow pace for 5 minutes at the beginning of the week and I plan to go to an hour long Zumba class tonight. Slow and steady.

I have 23 days until my 7th race and I have yet to schedule any more for the year. Because I double scheduled February, I’m ahead by a race so I can be a little lax for the rest of the year. But if I wanna complete this goal, if I want to run 12 races this year, I’ll need to suck it up and get with the program.

I need to run again. I need to start fresh and build my strength and stamina up.

I need to forgive myself and forget.

Here goes nothing!

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hiatus

  1. Something I’ve learned from years of running is how important it is to take breaks. It can be a rest day, a decrease in mileage over the summer or winter, or the decision to back off from a race when things aren’t going well. We runners are so good at feeling guilty when we think we’ve let ourselves down! You said it: forgive and forget. Everyone goes through those cycles, so you’re definitely not alone.

    • Katie says:

      Thanks for sharing. And boy do you speak the truth. Guilt is totally the little voice that nags at me when I take some time off of my running schedule. And I second guess my reasons no matter how valid they are. I’m happy to say I did a small jaunt yesterday to get myself started again so I’m not completely done, just taking it a little slower 🙂

Leave a Reply

