Time To Get Prepared

Click for photo credit

It’s official: My 5th race is one week away. So that means it’s time to start my pre-race preparation.

My last race was a 10k trail race so it’s nice to step back a bit and do a simple 5k road race. We’ll be heading out the Angel Stadium for the Angels 5k and 1 Mile Fun Run early Sunday morning. I’ll be running the 5k and my son will be participating in the 1 mile Fun Run! He’s very excited to race and I wish they had scheduled the races further apart so I could see him finish at least.

But maybe that will be the umph I need to push myself and finish faster. I’d LOVE to be at the finish line for him!

My last 5k was in February and I finished in 35:08. I’d LOVE to see my time be under 35:00 and since I ran my 10k in 68:48,  I think it’s completely possible. So my goal is to finish in the 34 minute range.

This all means I need to get my head on right and keep my race in mind all week.  I’ve got a list in my mind of what I need to do to be prepared to run on Sunday.

  • Use the foam roller daily to help loosen up hip flexors and IT bands.
  • Keep hydrated.
  • Up the healthy carbs and eat lighter meals.
  • No exercise after Thursday night.
  • Stretches or yoga before any exercise this week.
  • Sleep! And lots of it!

I’m up to 5 races so far. I’m almost half way done with my goal of running 12 races in 2012 and yet every time a race rounds the corner, I get nervous. Not that I’m scared or anything but I definitely feel anxious as the day comes closer. Not sure exactly what it is that haunts me but I can feel it now as I start to peek at my weekend and see that 5th race just staring back at me.

Here’s to a good week and lots of carbs!

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Goals, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

