Meet My New Weapon In The Arsenal Against Sore Muscles

You hear things all over the place. If you are on the internet, you hear things there and can search till your heart’s content to learn more. Articles, videos, you name it, it’s out there. If you are in a group, then you hear things from them. Tips, hints and suggestions on what they do and how they do it.
image

Not too long ago I was given the tip to buy a foam roller. The theory was that a foam roller would help stretch out those muscles that ordinary stretches can’t get to. Especially for women who run, these babies can really help get at those pesky IT band pains, the hip flexors and other leg muscles that can tense up due to overcompensating for out of track knees.

Since hip pain has plagued me constantly throughout my running experiences, I decided to give this a try. With the help of some fancy articles and a few You Tube videos, I’ve given it a whirl and already feel a difference. Not as much as I will if I make it apart of my daily routine to stretch and roll away the tightness in my thighs and calves, but it’s a start.

Next race is Saturday morning at 8am. I’m hoping to see an improvement in my running and in my recovery with this new weapon in my arsenal.

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Meet My New Weapon In The Arsenal Against Sore Muscles

  1. rchackman says:

    Good move. I love my foam roller! I think you will be very pleased with it

    • Katie says:

      Thanks! I’ve heard nothing but positive things about having a foam roller. I hope it helps out in the long run.

  2. Pingback: 12 In 2012: Into The Wild Oc Trail Run 10k « Running With A Purpose

  3. I’m seeing a personal trainer, and he highly recommends them!

    • Katie says:

      It’s been nice to have around, I can feel it hit some trigger points when I use it. So it’s doing something that just stretching isn’t and I like having that option.

Leave a Reply

