Practice Run

It’s finially here. I picked up my bib last night for the Brea 8k Classic and I’m ready to run tomorrow. I took a completely different approach this time around to prepare for my third race.

image

First, I threw my workout routine out the window. While I missed weight training and Zumba, I focused my weekly workouts to train for the longer distance of the 8k for this weekend’s race. I also included a stretching routine after a short jog for a warm up to try and loosen my sore hips.

In a week, I was able to cut my 4 mile run down to  54:56 which I felt was pretty good having never really attempted to run past 3 miles. I felt pretty good about my training this week and I’m glad I took my guy’s advise . Running helped get me in the mood to race and it also boosted my confidence in my improved stamina.

Secondly, I made sure my day before meals have been carb heavy! All healthy choices of course….well except that one chocolate muffin I had with my coffee. But other than that I’ve made to sure fill my system with healthy carbs in the hopes that it will help with my energy levels and keep my digestive system not overtaxed with heavy meals.

Now to make sure I drink my water and sleep well tonight. I’d like to come in under 1 hour tomorrow and hopefully with a good night sleep, a warm up jog and my dynamic stretching routine, I think this is highly possible!

Wish me luck!

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

