12 in 2012: Long Beach Love Birds 5k

Some days are good, some days are bad. The same can be said for races.

In January I ran a 5k and had a great time even with a slow start and bumps along the way. I felt so great after that I set up to continue running races the rest of the year, hence the 12 in 2012 goal.

For my second race, I took care and prepared. I ate right the day before and drank lots of water. I rested and didn’t overexert myself so that I would be fit and ready. Then race morning came and as we started to run, I felt sluggish and my hip radiated pain not long after my take off. Soon I began to doubt my ability to go through with all 12 races. My brain raced ahead to my 8k at the end of the month and the 10k in March. Soon I had talked myself out of everything I had planned for this year and I was ready to walk to the car.

But I didn’t. I pushed through and alternated between walking and running.

Even with the discomfort and the doubts, I found the ability to push through and finish in 35:08. My best time yet.

I also came away with the notion that I have work to do. I’ve been focusing on weight training lately and taking Body Pump classes to improve my muscle strength thinking it would help my running. I’ve been adding yoga to improve my flexibility and my core strength. While all of this is awesome for the long term, as for my goal to improve my running, it’s not enough.

I’ve got to run more.

Whether by treadmill or on the road, I need to add running as a part of my weekly workout routine. Nothing can help improve my running than, you guessed it, running. It was quite the “D’oh” moment when my guy told me that my body needs learn to be in motion in that form.

Now I just have to get over whatever is holding me back. My excuses are that I hate the treadmill so I don’t run in the gym and my other excuse is my son. I have him so I’m not able to just up and run. But I’ve got to get over this. I have to practice running…

Onto the next race!

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Races, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 12 in 2012: Long Beach Love Birds 5k

  1. Pingback: The Mistakes I Make, The Lessons I Learned « Running With A Purpose

  2. Pingback: My Memory Failed Me | Running With A Purpose

Leave a Reply

