Trail Training: Into The Wild OC

One of my races this year will be my very first time on a trail.

I’ve heard a lot of good things about trail running from it’s invigorating, the scenery is nice to it goes by fast due to all the technical footwork involved.

I was a mixture of anxious and excitement as I realized that all the prep work in the gym wouldn’t quite have me ready for the actual trail. Actually visiting the park and tackling said race trail before hand would probably put my mind at ease.

So I packed up a picnic basket, picked up a friend and headed to the Irvine Regional Park for a trial run.

The day was beautiful and bright. The sky was a clear blue and I was in good company and wearing my brand new trail sneakers. We headed out and covered a good 2.5 miles of steep terrain and rocky passes.

Can't go anywhere without a proper walking stick

At the end, we were hot, sweaty and hungry. I was also feeling a bit proud. My little man did a great job of sticking to the paths and keeping up with our longer legs. And we all had such a good time that we plan to make these weekend hikes a regular thing.

Glad to say that my Adidas trail running shoes are a good fit and seem to be breaking in fine. I made a good choice there. Now I do need to find myself some gaiters for my ankles to keep out the debris and dirt. Otherwise I feel confident about trail racing and I’m starting to look forward to it.

I hope to make it back out to the trails again soon, this time with big people only so I can run the actual 10k course I’m signed up to race in the future.

About Katie V.

A mom. A chef. A chauffeur. A personal assistant. A housewife. An office manager. You name it. I do it all while looking fabulous.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trail Training: Into The Wild OC

  1. Pingback: Into The Wild 10k 2014 | Running With A Purpose

Leave a Reply

